Worth Killing For (DI Fenchurch, #2)Worth Killing For by Ed James

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

On a busy London street, a young woman is attacked in broad daylight and left bleeding to death on the pavement. Among the eyewitnesses are DI Simon Fenchurch and his wife. Fenchurch pursues the attacker through a warren of backstreets and eventually arrests a young hoodie with a cache of stolen phones—an ‘Apple picker’ on the make. The case should be closed but something feels off…Was this really just about a smartphone? Why did the victim look nervous before she was targeted? And why don’t the prints on the murder weapon match the young man in custody?
A complex crime thriller that keeps you guessing to the end with a plot that has lots of twists and turns. The only trouble I had with this book was that I found I didn’t really get into the head of Fenchurch or his wife. That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy the book – I did. But I think I should have read book 1 first, to really understand their characters and what they’d been through. So I’d recommend reading the series in order.

View all my reviews

