Blackwater (DI Nick Lowry, #1)Blackwater by James Henry

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A new year brings a new danger to the Essex shoreline. An illicit shipment, bound for Colchester – 100 kilograms of powder that will frantically accelerate tensions in the historic town, and leave its own murderous trace. Lowry, Kenton and Gabriel must now develop a tolerance to one another, and show their own substance, to save Britain’s oldest settlement from a new, unsettling enemy.
To be honest I found this to be far to slow paced for me. I began to get restless and start to skim read passages. I also found the characters to be strangely unemotional – all of them, which had the effect of meaning I found it hard to connect with them and therefore didn’t care much for them. The plot was good, the writing very evocative of the time and the place, but it was missing that certain ‘something’ for me which would turn this good novel into a great one.
I received a review copy of this novel from Netgalley.

Blackwater is available from Amazon here.

View all my reviews

