Family Ties (A Detective Mark Pemberton Mystery Book 1)Family Ties by Nicholas Rhea

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I read this novel I didn’t know that the author was the writer behind the tv series Heartbeat. But now I do I can see the similarities, particularly in terms of pace. This is not a race against time crime thriller, but more of a cozy mystery.
Pembleton is not content with his role in the team protecting the US Vice President and needs more to keep him interested and motivated. As a result he starts to dig into the family ties between the Vice President and the folk of Yorkshire. That, of course, is where the mystery lies. Pembleton himself comes across as rather old fashioned, with morals and a sense of correct behaviour at all times.The author evokes a sense of place through beautiful descriptions of the scenery and towns. I thoroughly enjoyed this very British police procedural.
I received a copy of this novel via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Family Ties is available from Amazon here.

View all my reviews

