The Keeper (DCI Antonia Hawkins, #3)The Keeper by Alastair Gunn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There is something hiding in the forest. A man is found dead near an isolated forest outside of London. When another body is discovered a few days later, DCI Antonia Hawkins knows that she must move fast. The hunt is on. With each passing day, Hawkins struggles to find a pattern in this seemingly random scattering of murders. But who is the hunter?
This is the first book I’ve read by Alastair Gunn and even though it is the third in the series, I didn’t feel this detracted from the read. It was well written, and DCI Antonia Hawkins is struggling with demons from a previous case and with family problems that have fallen fairly and squarely in her lap. Her partner in life as well as work, DI Mike Maguire, I felt could have been more involved in the story. We saw him looking after Hawkins the best he could, but I didn’t get any feel for him as a person.
The plot was good, but I felt the last 10% of the book was a rehash of what had happened earlier in the book, but this time told through the eyes of the killer, which didn’t bring much to the party, and the book was pretty predictable from there on in.
Overall, a good read with a disappointing ending.
I received a review copy via Netgalley

View all my reviews

