Local Girl MissingLocal Girl Missing by Claire Douglas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

21-year-old Sophie Collier vanishes one night. She leaves nothing behind but a trainer on the old pier – and a hole in the heart of her best friend Francesca. 18 years later a body’s been found. And Francesca’s drawn back to the seaside town she’s tried to forget.
This is a chilling tale, written from the alternating POV of the two women, Sophie who vanishes and Frankie her friend who in the intervening years builds a life without her friend. Spooky and at times really well written, I felt the holes in the plot let this book down. I had issues with ‘remains’ being found 18 years after Sophie fell into the sea, yes I really did say 18 years! Secondly she was asked by Sophie’s brother Daniel to help him identify the remains! Seriously? If she was identifying a trainer, it could have been done via a photograph! And there must have been thousands of pairs of those popular trainers around at the time of Sophie’s death. Later in the book the timeline was a bit out regarding Sophie and a ‘significant event’ (I don’t want to spoil the plot). Also in one memorable scene Sophie was dressed in jeans, only to put a note in her dress pocket.
These anomalies, for me, spoilt what was shaping up to be a good psychological thriller and real page-turner. I received a copy of the novel from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

